Obsessed with the Polka Dot Dress

Who doesn’t love New York in the spring? It’s so gorgeous, I can’t stand it. Unfortunately, New York isn’t a town-for-all-seasons. It’s f-f-f-freezing in the winter and hot and sticky (…and stinky) in the summer. In fact, there are approximately two to four weeks of “perfect weather” in this city each year and this week happens to be one of them. This dress, on the other hand, is a year-round beauty. With black nylons and a chunky-knit black sweater (or “blush” colored sweater, to match the dots) it’s perfect for chilly autumn and winter days. The sleeve ruffles make it a touch too casual for the office, so I always pair it with this white grandpa-style cardigan… perfect for spring and summer.

My Lulu Guinness booties are quite possibly the most comfortable and most complimented shoes I own. I’ve worn them so much, I’m afraid of wearing them out! I need to bring them to a good, cheap cobbler… stay tuned for a recommendation πŸ™‚

The ruffle detail is so pretty and feminine, don’t you think?

This would be a perfect day-to-night cocktail dress, just slip the cardigan off and add tons of bangles (not shown here, I’m still working on my collection!) – perhaps a necklace –Β and you’ll be ready to hit the town in no time.

TAXI!

Lindsay’s Look

Black polka dot dress: Urban Outfitters, $65

Cardigan: BCBG Max Azria Outlet, $30

Black booties: Lulu Guinness, $350 (but they were a gift from working a Huminska fashion show)

Earrings: Courtesy of Meredith

6 Comments

Filed under Corporate Style, Lindsay's Looks

6 responses to “Obsessed with the Polka Dot Dress

  1. Love the polka dots mixed with ruffles! Such a cute look! I’ve been searching for a dress like that in red or orange!

    xx
    Nikki
    http://styleandcharm.blogspot.com/

  2. Oh and the shoes… to die for.

  3. Ire

    You look cute! I love your shoes!

    Visit my blog? Leave a comment? Follow? I’d be more than happy to reciprocate the blog love πŸ™‚
    http://voguishblog.blogspot.com/

  4. Even before you wrote that the shoes were yours, I thought, “whoa, cute shoes!”

    http://bucklebuttonzip.wordpress.com

  5. Pingback: Versatile Floral Print « Cubicle Chic

  6. Pingback: Obsessed With Cropped Trousers, Part I « Cubicle Chic

Leave a Reply

