Picnic Dress for Work?

I received this dress in the summer of 2008 when I was working at the cutest dress shop in the East Village, Huminska. The owner, Janice Huminska, cuts and sews everything by hand in New York City’s garment district, which is something to applaud in this day and age when everything is outsourced to China. For that reason, each dress is unique. I have about four dresses from her shop and while they’re not cheap if you buy them full-price, they’re super comfortable, easily transportable (my favorite part… they don’t wrinkle!) and amazingly cute. It brings back memories of the summer of 2008, listening to jazz music, trimming flowers and helping her stylish customers choose their dresses. If you go to Huminska during a sale, you can often score a dress like this for less! For those of us on a budget, Ms. Huminska had a $99 bin full of beautifully colored and cut dresses (at least when I worked there a couple of years ago).

Bows are a Huminska signature. Most of Ms. Huminska’s flirty, girly dresses feature a bow! Unfortunately, this bow often gets in the way at work and I think the dress is more professional without it, so I skip it during the week.

I wear this ring every day for a couple of reasons. First, it’s my favorite piece of jewelry to date because of the sentimental value it has…that’s one of the reasons I love jewelry so much! More often than not, jewelry has a story behind it, whether it’s a family heirloom, a gift from a loved one or something you made. Second, it’s is simple, elegant and day-to-day wearable.

The cowl neck is another great statement neckline. It’s not too low cut and with a blazer or cardigan (as pictured below), it looks sophisticated and feminine, which is always our sartorial goal for office outfits.

Without the cardigan, the cut of my dress (especially because it’s sleeveless) is a little too playful for work. Notice how it brings everything together? A cropped blazer would do the same thing.

Lindsay’s Look:

Dress: Huminska, $300

Cardigan: J.Crew, $30

Ring: Elsa Peretti for Tiffany, a gift

Bracelets: Courtesy of Meredith

5 Comments

Filed under Corporate Style, Lindsay's Looks

5 responses to “Picnic Dress for Work?

  1. I LOVE this dress! So adorable chic – and so versatile! What a find.

  2. I love this dress! The cowl neck IS great with the cardigan. Also, I have that same ring and I’ve worn it every day since I bought it in the summer of 2005–it’s the first nice piece of jewelry I bought for myself (one of the only nice pieces of jewelry I have ever bought for myself, in fact) and I think of it as a symbol of my independence and adulthood.

    • That’s amazing Jill! I may be biased, but I think it’s the perfect everyday ring. Delicate and interesting… and durable! Kudos to Elsa Peretti for designing this beautiful piece and glad we can connect over it 🙂 Do you have any other favorite jewelry?

Leave a Reply

