The Comfortable Professional

There’s no doubt about it, spring has sprung in New York City. It was a lovely day at Rockefeller Center, and as you can see from the background of the photos below, we weren’t the only ones who thought so. I wanted to shoot this look because it’s my go-to comfortable outfit. Do you have one of those? I wear it on the occasional “blah” day, when I don’t feel like getting “dressed up” but still want to look professional. The combination of solid color and print, the blouse’s neckline and the easy fit are what makes this my foolproof outfit. It’s loose all around except at the waist, which is the aesthetic element that pulls the look together. Easy breezy!

Another reason I love this outfit: it multitasks! When worn without the skirt, the top is flowy and looks so chic with a pair of skinny jeans, heels and a waist belt. It’s made with uber-soft jersey and has a weightiness to it that lets it fall just right.

I certainly got a lot of bang for my buck with this necklace. It adds a dash of edge to the outfit but is still professional enough to fly in the office. I also love wearing it with punkier ensembles on the weekend because its reminiscent of pyramid studding. It’s so versatile! See how I made it work with a Chanel-inspired blazer back in April.

So pretty!

Lindsay’s Look:

Shirt: H&M, $18

Skirt: H&M, $25

Shoes: Nine West, $35

Necklace: H&M, $15

Bag: Hayden-Harnett, $250 on sale (original price $650)

Mood Ring: gumball machine, $0.50

10 Comments

Filed under Corporate Style, Lindsay's Looks

10 responses to “The Comfortable Professional

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Comfortable Professional « Cubicle Chic -- Topsy.com

  2. this look is so great. definitely my style! and i am totally in love with your necklace!!!

  3. Britt Neff

    Great look! Wish H&M had petites…

    • I know! I feel like fit is never consistent there, though. Sometimes the pants are too long, sometimes just right (although never too short). How did you make out with your custom Huminska order?

  4. Britt Neff

    Have not had a chance to call yet. I’m in Seattle so the time difference makes it a bit challenging… Hope to call next week!

    *smile*

  5. That’s awesome! A flowy blouse tucked into a not-too-constricting skirt is also my go-to (I’ve got a nice relaxed tulip one that I wear a lot). I’m also majorly in love with your necklace!

  6. Pingback: Purple Shirts and Pencil Skirts « Cubicle Chic

  7. Pingback: Black on Black Outfit for Work « Cubicle Chic

  8. Pingback: Stolen Says: New York! « Cubicle Chic

  9. Pingback: Labor Day Linen « Cubicle Chic

Leave a Reply

