Black and White

This is one of the prettiest scenes in Central Park: the Jackie Kennedy Onassis Reservoir. Of course, it was one of those smoggy, muggy, hot New York summer days, so the backdrop is a bit overcast (almost London-esque, no?), but we were so excited about the clothes that we decided to soldier on and shoot anyway. It was about 20 minutes before the thunder and rain rolled in….

I love this combo for its comfort and bold contrast. There’s an art to wearing black and white…and if done incorrectly, you can unintentionally wind up looking like a caterer. First, don’t wear a white button down and plain black slacks unless there’s something special about one of them. This shirt for example, is something you’d be able to pair with plain black slacks because of it’s unique cut and shine. Here’s a totally cute wallet-friendly option. Or, if you opt to wear a plain white shirt like mine, wear a black pencil skirt or pants with some additional flair, like this wide-leg pair or a pair of my favorites, cropped trousers.

Second, you must accessorize properly. I chose to stick with the black and white theme for my accessories, but feel free to include pops of color with yours. I love, love, love these shoes. Originally, I was fixated on a pair from shopbop.com but couldn’t bring myself to spend half my rent on those kicks while furnishing my new apartment. Alas, after months of searching, I came across these beauties – and they were such a steal!

Lindsay’s Look

Shirt: Gap, $30

Necklace: H&M, $6

Bracelet: H&M, $4

Skirt: Ann Taylor, $80

Shoes: Modcloth, $38

8 Comments

Filed under Corporate Style, Lindsay's Looks

8 responses to “Black and White

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Black and White « Cubicle Chic -- Topsy.com

  2. Super pretty…LOVE those shoes!

  3. ahh I want those shoes! I love your blog – I’m getting so many good ideas of what to wear when I start my big girl job 🙂

  4. Firstly, you are so right about the resevoir. When I lived uptown, I used to run around it all the time. Secondly, I cannot for the life of me understand how it is possible that you are wearing that much clothing and not actually melting. The air is as thick as cotton in the city today! That being said, I like the minimalist thing you’ve got going on here.

    xoxo, Ashley

  5. I love your shoes here!

    dailycupoffashion.blogspot.com

  6. Hey Lindsay,

    Thank you for your lovely comment.
    The bag that you commented on is by the Portugese designer Marta Ponti, I hope that helps.

    I love your shoes in this post, very office chic. Very jealous that you are in NY.

    Keep following, Robbie xox
    http://theothersideofthepondmydear.blogspot.com/

  7. Really love those shoes.:)SarahD

  8. LOVE to wear black and white together, quite often actually. Lovely post!

Leave a Reply

