A T-Shirt in the Meatpacking District

Shorts! We have a love-hate relationship. Either too short, too long, too high, too tight – it’s hard to find the pair that’s just right. I’m not saying that these are that pair, but with shorts everywhere this summer, I dug deep into my closet to find something I could wear out of the apartment and was pleasantly surprised when these still fit. Plus, the white matches well with the navy tee (rather classic American, no?).

A simple silk tee calls for a fancy necklace. This was an affordable find at H&M (only $10!) and brings lots of character to the outfit. And like all good statement necklaces, it sits heavy on your chest so you never forget it’s there. Question: these bangs are ready for a trim, but how many of you cut your own bangs? With my uncoordinated tendencies, I think I would just be asking for trouble!

Meredith’s Look:

Shirt: Thrifted, $7

Shorts: The Gap, so old I have no idea of the price!

Necklace: H&M, $10

Bracelet: The Beadin’ Path, $6

Purse: Coach, $1 thrifted

Shoes: Kelly & Katie, $35

9 Comments

Filed under Casual Style, Meredith's Looks

9 responses to “A T-Shirt in the Meatpacking District

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A T-Shirt in the Meatpacking District « Cubicle Chic -- Topsy.com

  2. I constantly struggle with the shorts issue too – I love them as a look for going out at night (particularly with a billowy blouse), but fit is a constant issue.

    When I have bangs, I usually trim them myself – one solution I found was to gather them in the center of my forehead, and twist them together (essentially creating one roll). I then trimmed the bottom of the roll a tinsy bit (this gave me a semi-even cut all the way across), and then unrolled and shaped where I saw fit (I also would be the person to cut off half her bangs, but this method is actually pretty-surefire!)

    Becca

    • What an interesting idea! I wouldn’t have thought of twisting the bangs together. That sounds a little scary, but I’m definitely going to try it. Thanks for the tip Becca!

  3. That necklace is so unique! I have bangs too. I trim them myself, but I never cut too much at a time! One thing I do is point the scissors up and snip into my bangs. It helps add texture and avoids the issue of straight blunt bangs.

    • Ok, I’d thought of doing that but was worried I’d just make my bangs look raggedy. If it works for you, though, it’s clearly worth a try. Looks like I have a project for this evening!

  4. Kim

    I found your blog through reading your comments at Coporette, and I have to say, I love it!

    And, I feel the same way about shorts. I typically say that I never wear shorts, and I really don’t, but it’s not that I don’t like them. I just can not find a pair that works.

    Those ones look cute on you, though.

  5. Love those shorts! It is definitely hard to find a pair that fits great. Usually if I’ve resorted to shorts, it’s too hot for me to care how I look anymore. I usually cut my own bangs, but haven’t in a while…sounds like the gals above gave some great tips, though!

  6. great look! i’m loving that necklace!!! very cool.

Leave a Reply

