Stolen Says: New York!

When I first moved to New York, I worked on the 18th floor of an office building in Times Square overlooking the ball that drops every New Year’s Eve. Each day at 5:30pm I would step out onto the sidewalk and traipse down 42nd Street to Bryant Park and catch the D train back uptown to Harlem. On my short walk to the subway, I would look down 42nd Street and see the Chrysler Building and then look up to my right and see the Empire State Building. Although I knew it marked me as a newbie, a huge grin would light up my face. Here I was, finally, at the center of the universe, after 10 years of planning and scheming. It was incredible.

New York is showcased in myriad television shows and movies – Sex and the City, Seinfeld, Gossip Girl, Will & Grace, 30 Rock, Ghostbusters, You’ve Got Mail, Spiderman, any Woody Allen flick (the list goes on and on and on) –  and they have nurtured and brought into the limelight a vast number of celebrities. By playing Carrie in SATC, Sarah Jessica Parker has become an international fashion icon, and the entire cast of Seinfeld may never escape their association with the Upper West Side in the minds of most Americans. And who can forget Jennifer Aniston and the rest of the Friends crew as twenty-somethings trying to find their place in this bustling city? These shows all recount different New York stories, and yet – from high style to Soup Nazis, coffee shops to drama-laced dating and late night comedy to the upper echelons of society – they all have one common theme: New York, the ultimate celebrity.

New York truly is the ultimate celebrity, and she won’t let you forget it. I used to text one of my best girlfriends on hot summer nights when neither of us could sleep. We would take the A train to Times Square at 2:00 in the morning, pick up some fries at McDonald’s and sit on the glowing red steps above the TKTS booth. We would sit there, showered in all the lights that blink and glitter through the night, and just soak up the city’s inexhaustible energy and power. Of course, Times Square is only beautiful and bearable at 2am when one actually has the luxury of lounging on those stairs without tourists requesting a photo every eight seconds, but we felt so connected to New York in those moments – so lucky to be there in the midst of it all.

Since then, the real inner workings of New York have slowly been revealed to me. During the summer, between the hours of 5:30 and 8:00 in the evening, you could be sure to find me in SoHo at Cafe Noir or Boom, just around the corner. Sunday brunches at Barbounia on 20th and Park have become a staple of my diet, along with the bottomless mimosas and subsequent sunbathing in Sheep’s Meadow at Central Park. Some of my favorite memories consist of lazy Saturday afternoons wandering through the West Village after a visit to Magnolia Bakery and popping into the Marc Jacobs boutique. Even if my young professional life isn’t so glamorous, I definitely make up for it in my social life – whether it’s happy hour bellinis at Campbell’s Apartment in my patent leather shoes, or dancing in my Chucks to a live Bulgarian folk band at Mehanata Lounge on the Lower East Side.

The possibilities are endless, and so Stolen Says: New York has the spotlight. Meredith, Lindsay and I believe the same is true on Cubicle Chic. Those two have brought you to many of its famous landmarks and neighborhoods, including Rockefeller Center, Bryant Park, Park Avenue, the East and West Village, Cobble Hill…and more. We have decided that New York should play a starring role in our style venture, especially because so many of you love the city, so I will be reviewing restaurants, hot spots and general goings-on to be featured on CC. The city will take the stage for which she was born. I will do my best every week or two to bring you the best New York has to offer and further immortalize the city as she deserves.

So here’s to New York. Glam. Glitz. Fashion. Celebrity. Fun! The most fabulous thing about our glittering city is that there really, truly is something for everyone. You could begin an evening with a quick bite from a falafel cart in the West Village and end up at Johnny Weir’s birthday party at Hudson Terrance. As we like to say, it’s New York – anything can happen.

6 Comments

Filed under Stolen Says

6 responses to “Stolen Says: New York!

  1. Awesome! I love living vicariously through Cubicle Chic 🙂

  2. canadiangirl

    This is the most beautiful New York tribute! I have only ever been there once for a week, but I felt in deep inside. It is in my blood, I belong there. One day I will make it. Really, I will. Thank you for this post!

  3. Am

    “…dancing in my Chucks to a live Bulgarian folk band at Mehanata Lounge on the Lower East Side” Have you been back? I had so much fun there!

    Great post! It is always great to live a fantasy and for the layers to peel away so that you no longer feel like an outsider, but that you have always belonged!

  4. Aw, this post seriously almost brought tears to my eyes. I miss NYC :’-( Can’t wait to read your reviews, so I’ll know where to go next time I’m there!

  5. Pingback: Stolen Says: The Boathouse « Cubicle Chic

Leave a Reply

