Fifties Glamour


This is a dress I WISH I could wear to work, but it’s a touch too form fitting and shows a little too much cleave. Believe it or not, it’s quite comfortable…and it makes me feel fantastic. I love the way it hugs my curves and gives the illusion of a Marilyn Monroe-esque hourglass figure. Meredith and I shot this look in Manhattan’s meatpacking district… and everyone thought we were models! It was kind of hilarious.

For this corporate-inspired cocktail dress, I wanted to play up its “sexy secretary” character but couldn’t do that with a classic string of pearls or a glinty brooch because the neckline is already too detailed. So I went with a crazy-dramatic lip color. Admittedly, I’ve never tried something THIS red, but I’m quite happy with the result! The question is: how red is too red for the office? Wearing a shade this bold would likely garner some looks from your co-workers, but I daresay there is no such thing as an “inappropriate” red-hued lip color.

And, naturally, the signature polka-dot detail shot. Love them!

Lindsay’s Look:

Dress: Nicole Miller, $250 (on sale)

Shoes: Nine West, $25

Bangles: H&M, $6

7 Comments

Filed under Casual Style, Lindsay's Looks

7 responses to “Fifties Glamour

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Fifties Glamour « Cubicle Chic -- Topsy.com

  2. I’m a huge fan of bold lip colors, but not how they wear off throughout the day (means I’m always running to the office bathroom to reapply). I have found that Covergirl actually makes some great long-lasting stains though!

    Becca

    • Hi Becca,

      The one I have lasted for HOURS! It’s the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil. It tends to feel a little dry, so if you want to go glossy you’d have layer a little something extra on top. In the post, I kept it matte. It’s also a little pricey, but if you’re looking for a bold color that lasts, I’d highly recommend it. I ate and drank and gabbed up a storm without having to reapply 🙂

  3. i love this style! looks great on you. and the red lips…A+

  4. Chelle

    Love the lip color! very glamorous.

  5. Beautiful dress! I think keeping the lips matte is key for the office (or a tidbit of shine/moisture). I wouldn’t go super-glossy with such a vibrant color.

Leave a Reply

