A Statement Shrug for the Office

I know it’s summer and I’m supposed to be celebrating the warm weather with bright colors and fun patterns, but I just love my neutrals! I would wear slate gray every day if I could, but I worry that it could have a depressing effect on my day-to-day positivity. Sometimes you do need some color to brighten your life! So, on days when I opt not to wear full-on gray, I work with combining soft muted tones, like I did with gray, green and white in this look. I found that the sage green shrug paired with the grayish blue skirt and cream shirt was a pleasing color palette.

It was a windy day – perfect for showing off the movement of the long-sleeved shrug. Β The color may be muted, but the cut certainly is not. This makes for an excellent statement piece when you are looking to add a little punch to an outfit.

I really enjoy the detail on this tank from the Gap. It’s a basic (which the Gap is usually quite good at), but the lacey portion on the front makes it a little more interesting.

You know what? I think the 80s were right about this one – I DO feel more powerful with shoulder pads!

Meredith’s Look:

Shrug: H&M, $30

Shirt: Gap, $20

Skirt: Banana Republic, $45

Shoes: Cole Haan, $70

6 Comments

Filed under Corporate Style, Meredith's Looks

6 responses to “A Statement Shrug for the Office

  1. Stop! I couldn’t even tell there were shoulder pads in this! I also think the color combo is perfect on you – definite inspiration for my fall palate.

    Becca

  2. Cute shrug. I like the drape front!

  3. Very cute! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m a former New Yorker, now Mainer, so I can reminisce about my big city days by visiting your site πŸ™‚

    Laura

  4. Sandy

    You look like a million bucks! The colors are perfect – remember your hair color always adds a punch of color!
    Just gorgeous!
    xoxo
    Sandy

  5. Love the open flowiness of that shrug!

Leave a Reply

