Blue and Purple Medley

Last week I channeled the 80s with my muted shoulder-pad-power outfit, so this week I jumped back another decade to the rockin’ 70s with this high-waisted and wide-legged ensemble. I’m still having fun playing with understated tones, but this time I stuck with a rather monochromatic color scheme of blue with a dash of purple.

I think it’s the perfect time to reveal these pants because they are going to be a popular look this fall, but you’re most likely going to find them on the racks in camel or chocolate brown. Because they always feel like quite the statement, they don’t make it out of the closet too frequently – but they’ve worked well during this hot and humid summer due to their thin fabric and space through most of the leg. The challenge they present, however, is: what shoes to wear? My first thought is to slip into some wedge sandals, but that would be a bit too casual for the office. Plus, height is unnecessary with a pair of pants that’s elongating an already leggy bottom half! I’ve found that I like these pointy flats because the toes poke out just beyond the flare of the pant leg.

Notice the purple beads – I can’t get enough of the color! I think that the double strand blends in nicely but still adds some bling to the dual-toned look.

What does one always need to remember when wearing high-waisted pants? Good posture to try and keep the belly in! According to my high school gym teacher, that’s one of the best ways to strengthen your abs – you’re giving them a workout all day long!

Meredith’s Look:

Shirt: Banana Republic, $35

Pants: Victoria’s Secret, $40

Sweater: Banana Republic, $35

Shoes: Banana Republic, $30

Necklace: Branché Jewelry Design

P.S. Did you notice how Lindsay snuck into the third photo? 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Corporate Style, Meredith's Looks

8 responses to “Blue and Purple Medley

  1. Kate

    Meredith, you look absolutely STUNNING in the third photo! Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous!

  2. Alex

    Agreed agreed agreed! The photos just get better and better on CC — Mere, keep these photos (esp. the third, I agree with Kate!) for your own personal portfolio! 🙂

  3. Ellielou

    Meredith, I approve!

    and you look absolutely gorgeous in these colors. EVERYONE should wear more blue! 🙂

  4. Stop paralegaling and go be a model. serious.

  5. I love this! So chic and professional. I love the flair at the bottom!

  6. Great look! I agree…always go with pointy-toed shoes when you’re wearing wide-leg pants to help balance the proportion. Those look so comfy!

  7. Pingback: Runway Inspiration: Variations on Camel « Cubicle Chic

Leave a Reply

