Stolen Says: Wine and Tapas at Alta

If you recall from last week, I had a fantastic weekend bar/party-hopping and mingling with some fantastic people in some fun places (Pony Bar, Inc Lounge and Calle Ocho). I had started out that weekend with some dancing in the West Village at, of all places to be dancing, a little dive bar called Pieces.  In any case, there was (surprise, surprise) a birthday party happening, and Jbru and I made some new friends – one of whom (we’ll call him KS) I met for drinks and dinner this week.  This is my favorite aspect of New York – you never know who you’re going to meet or the places they will take you!

Restaurant

When deciding on a place to go this week, I suddenly got a craving for delicious wine and tapas, so I immediately thought of Alta. Tucked away on the lower level of a townhouse in the West Village (on West 10th Street near 6th Avenue), Alta is cozy, warm and welcoming, but surprisingly spacious!  They boast an excellent wine selection (I went with the 2003 Rioja), and some of the best sangria in town. Their food menu is also incredible, and my mouth is actually watering just thinking about it. With small plates ranging in price from $3-$13, it’s easy to share a few bites and a few glasses of wine to have a splendid, wallet-friendly time. I highly suggest the lamb meatballs and the fried goat cheese – maybe not the healthiest choice, but they’re so delicious! And if you balance it out with the broccoli rabe, you can satiate your conscience as well as your palate. Yum!

Fireplace

Alta NYC

After dinner, KS & I went to 49 Grove Street, a club at which KS’s friend is a promoter. I had a flight to catch the next morning and hadn’t even packed yet, so I intended to stay for one drink and then head home. But what is it that they say? The best laid plans of mice and men… I was having so much fun dancing in this lower level lounge, I didn’t get home until 2:30 a.m.! There was a slammin’ DJ, and if you ordered bottle service, it was brought to you with a sparkler stick. This made the lounge a bit smokey, but also offered such a festive and fun ambiance! So after a few hours of dancing the night away (on a Wednesday night, no less), KS finally put his foot down, dragged me off the dance floor and we headed to the N train at 8th Street, where we parted ways. Thank heavens for little miracles, for had I stayed any later, I never would have gotten packed in time. New York makes it so hard to pull away!

(All photos: nymag.com)

2 Comments

Filed under Stolen Says

2 responses to “Stolen Says: Wine and Tapas at Alta

  1. Angela Madathil

    Wow…what a fabulous looking place! I’m glad you met someone fun who was perhaps from KS ;). That’s where I am. I enjoy your blog!

  2. I love Alta. Whenever my mom visited me when I lived in NY we’d grab a bite and some vino there. Such a great space and so yummy!

    Laura

Leave a Reply

