Ruffles for Work

Black Blazer

I love me some ruffles. Especially when wearing a suit, they are a nice feminine touch that softens the outfit’s strong lines. I don’t consider myself a girlie-girl (pink is practically an untouchable in my opinion), but I find myself unable to resist the pull of ruffles on the racks at the store. Ruffled skirts, shirts, dresses, shoes – they all need to be touched and investigated. So when I unwrapped this shirt last Christmas, you can imagine the pleased look on my face. Nice shopping, dear aunt!

Ruffles

Ruffles

Cute and playful, right? But still professional. The ruffles fill up the blazer so nicely. Now, I probably shouldn’t bring this up, but I made a little fashion faux-pas with this outfit… the blacks don’t match perfectly. The skirt and blazer were bought separately, are from different brands and are aging at different rates. If you look closely, you can tell that the skirt is a slightly lighter black than the blazer (it is about a year older). Of course, I could blame this all on tricks of the lighting, but… honesty is the best policy.

Happy Monday to all!

Ruffles

Meredith’s Look:

Shirt: Gap, a gift from my aunt

Skirt: Banana Republic, $40

Blazer: Zara, $70

Shoes: Cole Haan, $70

11 Comments

Filed under Corporate Style, Meredith's Looks

11 responses to “Ruffles for Work

  1. Ruffles are one of my favorite things to wear with a suit, I am on the same page about throwing a nice feminine detail into the mix!

  2. Angela

    I love the outfit! I also am SOO attracted to ruffles. There are so many lovely dresses and shirts with ruffles right now.

  3. Love this! Big ruffle fan myself, esp. for work. My wedding dress even had ’em. : )

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Ruffles for Work « Cubicle Chic -- Topsy.com

  5. Great look, I have a ruffled shirt in pale blue that I just LOVE, really adds a softer touch to a suit or blazer!

  6. Cute ruffles! And yeah, it’s hard to match blacks

  7. Jane

    Cuuute! Sassy blazer and shoes too!

  8. Love it! I like how the muted color tones down the fluffiness. I love ruffles as a detail.

  9. I’m a big fan of ruffles myself, and they look great with that suit. It makes the look less stuffy.

    Kendra
    http://closetconfections.com

  10. Anuja

    The ruffles are so cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

