I Got Stripes

Striped Shirt with Jeans“I got stripes/stripes around my shoulders/ I got chains/ Chains around my feet.” Johnny Cash is one of my favorite musical artists, and I’d like to dedicate this post to him. Of course, my stripes aren’t like the ones he references, but I can’t help but think of that song whenever I wear them.

Gray Sweater

Gray Sweater 2

In addition, these jeans have the best fit ever! I’ve had great luck with AG denim in that the fit and price are always right. Jeans are so expensive nowadays, no? I remember when one of my equally clothes-obsessed girlfriends from highschool and I used to be able to find jeans for $10 or $20 a pair at the Gap. Nowadays even Gap jeans border designer prices! Ah, the good old days… I was able to get these bad boys for half off 🙂

Another thing I love about this ensemble is that it’s all made with organic cotton. I’m not a stickler for organic goods, but I do try! I actually think the cotton is softer and stronger than the “regular” stuff. And to know that I’m doing something good for my body and the environment fosters a great feeling! Meredith and I were chatting yesterday about how much easier it is to find organic clothes for casual looks rather than office ones. Sad but true! I am challenging myself to put together a work outfit that’s entirely (or almost) made of organic materials. When I do, I’ll be sure to post it.

Striped Shirt

Lindsay’s Look:

Striped Shirt: Zara, $25 (100% organic cotton!)

Jeans: AG, $98 (down from $198 at an Anthropologie sale – also 100% organic cotton!)

Sweater: Urban Outfitters, $58 (and also 100% organic cotton!)

Boots: Frye, $250

7 Comments

Filed under Corporate Style, Lindsay's Looks

7 responses to “I Got Stripes

  1. Love the neckline of the shirt and the stripes! Ballet necklines are so ladylike and flattering.

  2. That shirt looks great on you! I wish you luck with your search for work appropriate organic clothes, it is so hard!

    • I bet! Now I *have* to find them. I bet it’s because most work clothes are some sort of poly blend and not made of cotton – and I think poly blend is inherently not organic. But I will keep you posted!

      Lindsay

  3. Elizabeth

    This is such a cute outfit! And I’m in love with that sweater…looks so cozy and chic…perfect!

  4. You look so pretty! We have got to get together miss!

  5. Love the stripes, they look great on you!

    Sending you a smile,
    tp

  6. Pingback: Leopard Cardigan: Casual Edition « Cubicle Chic

Leave a Reply

