How to Keep Your Jewels Organized

Written by Meredith

Bowls of earrings. Piles of earrings. Twisted chains. Buried necklaces. An earring missing its partner. A cracked pendant. It’s not easy being sparkly and dangly.

It’s also not easy to store and display your jewels, so here is a little peek into how I’ve made it work. Both earrings and necklaces are displayed in antique gold and wooden frames so that they are accessible and pleasing to look at. I was originally inspired by the creative display ideas that the managers of The Beadin’ Path (best bead store in the country and a previous employer) always came up with and thought: “With the money we spend on our jewelry and how much we often treasure the pieces, why hide them in jewelry boxes when they would look lovely on display?”

After a trip to a yard sale and a thrift store, I had put together something that was both pretty and functional, qualities that I’ve learned are absolutely essential when decorating for New York City living.

Here are a few snapshots:

Frame

Frame Corner

Audrey HepburnWhy hello there!

Frame

Necklace Frame

Eiffel TowerIt’s kind of special to see what’s inside someone’s locket, right? Consider yourself special. Mine’s got a photo of the Eiffel Tower I took one beautiful July evening that I’ll never forget.

Necklaces

Frame

Necklaces

Frame

Looks easy, right? Well, it is.

For the earrings, all you need to do is staple a large sheet of window screen to the back of a frame and you’re ready to organize. I used an industrial stapler the first time around, but when I needed to make some repairs, regular staples worked just as well. Yeah. Simple as that.

The necklace frame has a few more steps but is just as easy. I took a thin piece of wood and hammered a nail or pushed in a thumbtack every few inches along it so my necklaces would have something from which to hang. Then, I nailed the two ends of the piece of wood to the back of the frame so that it sat about one inch below the top border. As you can see, I chose to hang a few of the bulkier or heavier necklaces off the corner of the frame so that they wouldn’t take up too much room or be too heavy for the thumbtacks.

Unfortunately, frames don’t work for all jewelry. My earrings studs are laying in an old soap dish and my bracelets overflow from an antique brass bowl. Both displays look nice, but they don’t provide the same sense of satisfaction that a well-organized frame does. Let’s call this: Type-A shabby chic.

17 Comments

Filed under Side Notes

17 responses to “How to Keep Your Jewels Organized

  1. Christine

    Very creative idea! And doubles as home decor!

  2. Love this! Right now, I have my larger necklaces displayed on nails on the inside of my walk-in closet door… kinda cool, not really for display, but it works.

    ~Nicole

  3. Sandy

    Very good idea – the Beadin’ Path is the best bead store – no question. I am thinking of a way to display bracelets – maybe a dowel or even a spring loaded curtain rod in a window could work. Except when you want the bracelet in the middle of the rod – let me think on this. There’s a solution, for sure. Not sure about the earrings with backs.

    Love your blog – look for it every day. And I am not anywhere near fashion conscious. You probably already knew that…xoxo Sandy

    • Yeah, I’m also brainstorming ideas for bracelets. I do like the way they look overflowing from my bowl, but it could be nice to clear up some bookshelf space for other things. Let me know what you come up with!

  4. Bailey

    Love this! Right now my necklaces are in a giant pile, so I may very well try this. I hang my earrings on an old CD-organizer I’ve turned on its side, and that works too, but it’s not nearly as pretty as your creation. I poked holes in a piece of plastic that originally came with a pair of earrings and stuck all my studs on there. There must be a prettier way…

    • Find a pretty dish or small tray and you’ve got a home for your studs! Interesting idea with the CD-organizer… can’t quite imagine it, so I’m sure I never would have been able to come up with it!

  5. I love this! Thanks for the how-to tips. My friend had a display of her earrings like this and I was always envious, but never bothered to research into how I could implement her idea.

  6. great suggestion for the earrings.
    i’m going to store all of mine that way

  7. Hi Meredith, I’m visiting from the 7S Calling All Bloggers thread. This is great! I became an earring collector early on and did a similar thing. Posted pins in a thin bulletin board and hung the pairs from there. Your idea’s much more aesthetically pleasing, though. And I love those Audrey Hepburn earrings!

  8. rina

    I love the idea for the earrings! Currently my bracelets are being stored in an antique liquor box, but I’m trying to find a stylish looking standing paper towel holder to stack them on. It would take up a lot less space on my tiny dresser.

  9. Amy

    I use something like this for my studs. Keeps them neat and is kind of interesting looking. Love your site!

    http://www.organize.com/seenstwhst.html

  10. That is so creative, I love this functional art!

  11. Sara

    THIS IS THE BEST IDEA I NEVER HAD. My jewelry thanks you.

Leave a Reply

